An Italian Sunday Lunch Fare

A beautiful bunch for 150 Pesos from Farmers Market

A beautiful bunch for 150 Pesos from Farmers Market

Yesterday, I prepared a very hearty Sunday lunch spread for the family as I have missed cooking.

I started early, buying fresh seafoods and flowers from Farmers’ Market which is very near our place in Cubao.

Seafood stew with saffron

Seafood stew with saffron

SEAFOOD STEW

First, I sauteed the onions, garlic, fennel and dried chili on a combination of olive oil and butter. Afterwards, I added the celery stems.

Cioppino

Cioppino

To give it more flavor, I added the Lapu-Lapu into the mixture, browning the fish a little. I removed it eventually before it was fully cooked. Then, I added more than a cup of white wine (cabernet) and allowed it to simmer. Afterwards, I added a can of Molinera diced tomatoes. To give it more depth and quality of flavor, I added saffron, paprika dulce, salt and pepper. I gave it around 15 minutes to simmer over low heat.

Afterwards, I added the prawns, clams and mussels. When they opened, I added the squid and put back the Lapu-Lapu. To give it more flavor, I added a mixture of finely chopped parsley, basil and cilantro.

Yum!

Yum!

Voila, a hearty, rich Ciopppino full of flavor and character.

A spoonful of truffle oil keeps the melancholy away! haha

A spoonful of truffle oil keeps the melancholy away! haha


LINGUINE in TRUFFLE CREAM SAUCE

I first boiled the linguine in salted water for 10 minutes (according to the pasta’s instructions). Don’t forget the oil!

My truffle cream sauce simmering away

My truffle cream sauce simmering away

In a saucepan, I melted butter and drizzled a few drops of olive oil. I then added mushrooms (I suggest button and portobello) and allowed them to sweat. Garlic and onions were added and then I lowered the heat. I allowed them to caramelize. Afterwards, I added a can of all-purpose heavy cream. As it boiled, I added a few drops of truffle oil.

When the noodles were al dente (“to the tooth”), I removed them from the pot and directly added them into the saucepan. Don’t worry about the extra water; it will create more moisture to the sauce.

Linguine in truffle cream sauce

Linguine in truffle cream sauce

I grated a generous amount of Gruyere and Parmigiano Reggiano as I mixed the pasta in the sauce. I also added some finely-chopped basil and parsley. I served it with another hefty amount of grated cheeses.

Yum! I didn’t want it swimming in cream though so I perfectly measured the sauce.

Grilled lamb chops

Grilled lamb chops


GRILLED LAMB

Nothing is better than bringing out the real, gamey taste of lamb with the employ of minimal ingredients. Overnight, the lamb chops were marinated in a mixture of garlic, salt, pepper and some finely-chopped parsley leaves. After being grilled, the lamb chops were served with sides of lemon slices and gravy.

Our spread :)

Our spread 🙂

What a beautiful Sunday lunch indeed!

3 thoughts on “An Italian Sunday Lunch Fare

  1. Pingback: Introducing: CUCHARA TENEDOR | HECHO AYER

    • Dear Marketman,

      You are an idol! I’ve been reading your blog for years and I am so honored that you have graced my blog. More than your obvious talent, what inspires me most is your concern or at the very least, knowledge of the importance of sustainable food. Thank you for your example. I hope I can take my cooking and “food writing” seriously. Gracias!

Leave a comment